Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

October 19, 2021

President Joe Biden 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW Washington, D.C. 20500

Dear President Biden,

We write to you today seeking clarification on your Administration's position on the United Nations Arms Trade Treaty (ATT). Recent remarks by Deputy Director for Conventional Arms Threat Reduction, William Malzahn, seem to indicate your intention to rejoin this misguided and overbearing international treaty.

At this year's Seventh Conference of States Parties (COSP) to the Arms Trade Treaty, Deputy Director Malzahn stated, "The United States has long supported strong and effective national controls on the international transfer of conventional arms, and the Arms Trade Treaty is an important tool for promoting those controls internationally." We find this statement to be most concerning and contrary to the current and historical position of the United States.

When President Obama signed the ATT in 2013, he was met with strong bipartisan opposition and failed to garner the approval of the Senate, to which the Constitution vests the sole power to approve international treaties. As Members of the House of Representatives, we were grateful our Senate colleagues came together to reject the treaty with the sole purpose of protecting American sovereignty and our constitutional rights.

However, the same concerns remain today as they did in 2013. The vague language of the ATT makes American commitments uncertain, the most concerning of which is the lack of protections for lawful gun ownership which threatens the rights afforded to Americans under the Second Amendment. Further, with an amendment process that only requires a three-fourths vote for approval by the States Parties actually present at the meeting of COSP, more intrusive provisions could be applied in the future; legally obligating the United States to comply with international commitments without consent from the Senate.

Under any circumstance, it is inconceivable that the United States would consider subjecting our constitutional rights to bear arms to international oversight and interference. For these reasons, we request clarification on your intentions regarding this international accord. Moreover, we urge you to reject the ATT.

Thank you for your attention to our concerns and we look forward to hearing your response.

Sincerely,

Vicky Hartzler

Vicky Hartzler Member of Congress

PRINTED ON RECYCLED PAPER

Mong Lambour

Dough Lamborn Member of Congress

ral in

Steve Scalise Member of Congress

Mike Johnson Member of Congress

Snor essm

Pete Sessions Member of Congress

Forme C

Louie Gohmert Member of Congress

SLM

Doug LaMalfa Member of Congress

homas Massie

Thomas Massie Member of Congress

Bolad TV W

Robert J. Wittman Member of Congress

6. Margon 1

H. Morgan/Griffith Member of Congress

Ted Budd Member of Congress

Flin M. Sufant

Elise Stefanik Member of Congress

Bill Posey Member of Congress

Kat Cammack Member of Congress

Darrell Issa Member of Congress

Alex X Momey

Alex Mooney Member of Congress

Guy Reschenthaler Member of Congress

In Backs Jim Banks

Member of Congress

4ik

Mike D. Rogers Member of Congress

Tony Gonzales Member of Congress

MoBrook

Mo Brooks Member of Congress

ark space

Markwayne Mullin Member of Congress

Dan Crenshaw Member of Congress

Bob Good Member of Congress

Michael Cloud Member of Congress

William R Timmon D

William R. Timmons, IV Member of Congress

Brak. U

Brad R. Wenstrup, D.P.M. Member of Congress

ance Hooden

Lance Gooden Member of Congress

Ben Cline

Ben Cline Member of Congress

Kaleh Norman

Ralph Norman Member of Congress

Billy Long Member of Congress

arkie Walveski.

Jackie Walorski Member of Congress

John Carter Member of Congress



John Katko Member of Congress

(landra (Jenney

Claudia Tenney Member of Congress

erdan

Jim Jordan Member of Congress

mEn G

Tom Emmer Member of Congress

Earl I Bully Carta

Earl L. "Buddy" Carter Member of Congress

innic

Roger Williams Member of Congress

Andy Biggs Member of Congress

Blake D. Moore

Blake Moore Member of Congress

David P. Joyce Member of Congress

D Chip Roy

Member of Congress

Vern Buchanan Member of Congress

Cou

David Rouzer Member of Congress

Mike Gallagher Member of Congress

John Moolenaar Member of Congress

mariannette (Micler Meaker

Mariannette Miller-Meeks, M.D. Member of Congress

Eric A. "Rick" Crawford Member of Congress

olu -

John Joyce, M.D. Member of Congress

Jefferson Van Drew Member of Congress

Glenn 'GT' Thompson Member of Congress

Chris Jacobs Member of Congress

David Kustol

David Kustoff Member of Congress

1

Mike Bost Member of Congress

A Hadson

Richard Hudson Member of Congress

ahn W Rose John Rose

Member of Congress

Andrew S. Clyde

Andrew S. Clyde Member of Congress

ulcher

Russ Fulcher Member of Congress

John H. Rutherford Member of Congress

Scott Perry Member of Congress

0

Barry Loudermilk Member of Congress

Brian Babin, D.D.S. Member of Congress

Randy Feenstra Member of Congress

Dem Sothmu

Glenn Grothman Member of Congress

m. Bilini.

Gus M. Bilirakis Member of Congress

voly

Rodney Davis Member of Congress

Little M. P

Matthew Rosendale, Sr. Member of Congress

Tracey Mann Member of Congress

thomas P Tom Tiffany

Member of Congress

Camby K. Wilen

Randy Weber Member of Congress

SI Mill

Bob Gibbs Member of Congress

Jodey C. Arrington Member of Congress

Larry Bucshon, M.D. Member of Congress

loleit B. Ader 220

Robert B. Aderholt Member of Congress

man

Jeff Duncan Member of Congress

modison Cauthon

Madison Cawthorn Member of Congress

hill fisch bad

Michelle Fischbach Member of Congress

Dan Bishop Member of Congress

en M

Paul A. Gosar, D.D.S Member of Congress

Ushley Hinson

Ashley Hinson Member of Congress

Julia Letlow Member of Congress

aures

Lauren Boebert Member of Congress

Tim Burchett Member of Congress

W. Gregory Steube Member of Congress

August Pfluger Member of Congress

Mon

Jack Bergman \ Member of Congress

Many

Nancy Mace Member of Congress

Bruce Westerman Member of Congress

iomer ames

James Comer Member of Congress

Debbie Lesko Member of Congress

Tom McClintock Member of Congress

C. Scott Franklin

C. Scott Franklin Member of Congress

ul

Adrian Smith Member of Congress

mine derrera Butler

Jaime Herrera Beutler Member of Congress

Johnson

Bill Johnson Member of Congress

ale M.D.

Andy Harris, M.D. Member of Congress

Mul B. MIC

David B. McKinley, P.E. Member of Congress

caroe D. mill

Carol D. Miller Member of Congress

tustin Scott

Austin Scott Member of Congress

Brian Mast Member of Congress

Marinie Safer Drane

Marjorie Taylor Greene Member of Congress

Jody Hice Member of Congress

an Taylor

Van Taylor / Member of Congress

Marl E Green

Mark E. Green, M.D. Member of Congress

Ann Wagner / Member of Congress

S. Amores honiz

Mark Amodei Member of Congress

David G. Valadao Member of Congress

James R. Baird Member of Congress

Michael Guest Member of Congress

Robert E. Latta Member of Congress

Chris Stewart Member of Congress